Gluten Free Chinese New Year

Inspired by Chinese New Year, new gluten free stir fry sauces from Tesco and other bloggers such as Becky Excell cooking gluten free Chinese food, I decided to try myself! I was cooking for 8, which was lucky at 8 is a lucky number in Chinese tradition!

I had never cooked Chinese food before, and I haven’t really eaten it either! I had help from my friends, one of whom bought duck as that’s her Chinese dish of choice, and another who made a sweet and sour chicken in her slow cooker. I also made a vegetable chow mein with rice noodles, vegetable spring rolls with rice paper wrappers (I bought vietnamese spring roll kit from Tesco as this was all I could find), breaded chicken bites, garlic and chilli prawns, egg fried rice and some spicy mushrooms.

You can see how I got on here:

The mushrooms are from Sweet Mandarin cookbook and as a couple of my friends asked for the recipe I thought I’d share it here for others.

Sweet Mandarin – Salt and Pepper Juicy Mushrooms

Serves 2, prep time 10 mins, cooking time 5 mins.

1-2 tbsps vegetable oil
1-2 garlic cloves, finely sliced
1/2 medium onion, finely diced
1/2 green pepper, diced
1 fresh red chilli, finely sliced
250g button mushrooms, halved
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp five spice powder
1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine (I found this in tesco but it had wheat in so I just left it out. Include it if you can find gluten free version)

Add the oil to pre heated wok. Quickly stir fry the garlic, onion, pepper and chilli over a high heat for 1 minute.

Add the mushroom and cook for 4-5 minutes until browned. Sprinkle over the salt, sugar and five spice powder. (Add wine- see note above) Toss well.

Leave a Reply

