Maxwell’s Covent Garden

Image

I went for lunch on Sunday at Maxwell’s in Covent Garden, London.

On their Sunday menu you can get two courses for about £14.50, there is a three course option but none of the deserts on that menu are gluten free.

I emailed them before I went and received a quick reply about being able to eat most things apart from the obvious (breads) and no relish or bbq sauce. They also provide a gluten free bun for burgers or sandwiches and tortillas for fajitas. When we were seated I mentioned it to my waitress too who immediately told me the same information without having to go and ask anyone!

I went for the potato skins with cheese and bacon to start, and a cajun chicken sandwich for my main, with the gluten free bun. She was very helpful and reiterated it was gluten free when she bought it over. Two others at my table had made the same choice, and they were given it as ‘cajun chicken with regular bun’ and I could see that it was different as mine had sesame seeds.

Overall it was a really good meal and I was too full for desert anyway! If I went to have the regular menu I might try the vegetable fajitas.

Also I recommend going on a Sunday as their cocktails are £4.50 all day (may not seem that cheap but they are usually £7!) I had a Cosmopolitan and it was very nice, quite strong!

Leave a Reply

